Advent Day One

Advent Day One

Advent Day One

I was fussing to my sister that Christmas flies by so fast without half the things done that I wished I had done.  She filled me in on a little secret.  “My advent calendar is not little toys, but notes with activities on them so we don’t miss the things we love each year.” Oh. My. Goodness! This year I’ve made a fresh list to attempt to implement this lovely method. Last night I swung by the store to pick up a few things to prep for the 1st day.  I needed some Christmas candies as we’ve all come to love the chocolate in our calendar. I found a Merci with 20 chocolates on sale with a $2 off coupon at Fred Meyer. I love these chocolates because they have so many flavors in each package and I can personalize the choice for each person each day of advent.

I printed the cards and envelopes from yellowblissroad at 30% after using the Kingthingswillow font to write out our two projects for Sunday, December 1st. The first project was to pick a child and shop for them from our local elementary school tree.  Naturally, the munchkins found a child who loved Minecraft so they could have fun shopping! They found t-shirts at Hot Topic (with a buy one get one 50% off in the store) as well as a creeper wristband.

Satisfied, they moved on to the next item on the list. Ornaments. The youngest groaned and said, “I thought Christmas was supposed to be fun.” I thought quickly and replied, “What about Minecraft ornaments?” Within moments we found ornaments made from cubes with glitter and green creatures.  They instantly began choosing which patterns were their favorites. Score!  I dropped them off at youth group and headed off to JoAnn’s to find the necessary ornaments with a 60% off coupon loaded on my phone. Alas, JoAnn’s had no such objects. I did however find this wonderful book to use my coupon on for a gift for my mother.

So I searched the web and found that both Michael’s and Craft Warehouse supposedly are carrying the little cubes. I’ll have to move that craft project further into the week, once I can reach a store again. I’ll also be calling before I go, being as tomorrow is the Monday after black Friday and most of the checkers were saying they’d been cleared out of most sale stock.  I did find them online here, but the one review said that the glass ones were very fragile.  If we have to choose another block ornament, I’m pulling for the snow block Now to fill the door behind the number 2…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

