Party Lights

Anna is one of the girls who I mentored when she was in high school. She's getting married now and I went over the other night to help her with her bouquets.  They are charming! I know that's not a term widely used for flowers, but hers are not the usual wedding flowers.  We started with piles of vintage buttons and wire to create one of a kind flowers to make her unique bouquets.

Vintage_buttonsAnnas_daisys

I think they are adorable, but we were lamenting the need for more large yellow vintage buttons. It looks like she'll need about 30 "flowers" per bouquet. 

One of my girlfriends shuttled my kids to the same places her kids were going and I went out to breakfast with DH before he had an interview.  Luckily, we had to drive through Portland, so we went to Mother's. DH had a scramble and I had the salmon hash with pork apple sausage. (I had to substitute out the eggs, I'm really not crazy about eggs.) There are old hitching rings all along the streets in downtown Portland. This is one across the street from the restaurant.

SalmonhashEggbreakfastHitching_ring

 Anna's brother just graduated from highschool and their father picked up these very cool lights for the backyard.

NightlightsJohndeerEveninglights

I looked around and found some more outdoor party lighting at Gamasonic, Mr. Light, OOga (look under their commercial lights).  Since I still have one more party to host this summer, I keep looking at outdoor spaces.  I've finally found the right combination of plants for the patio. (This is completely dependent upon what the deer will and won't eat, mind you.) They don't like my sage, thyme, peppermint, lavendar, or siberian iris bulbs, so that's what I get to grow there. I know it's a bit limiting on the color scheme, but I'm so about low maintainance and not spending money on plants that just get eaten.

Rechargable_atmosphereSolar_garden_stakesOoga

 It may be a little early, but I'm starting to brainstorm about the prize for the birthday post this August…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

