Melange

This is what I want my whiskey barrel herb garden to look like.  (Photo from B&B link below) Last year, it did not. Last year, it attempted to breed mosquitoes, until I found them and turned the whole mess over.  (Sounds familiar doesn't it.)  It seems, according to this blog, Backyard Farming, that all I needed was a few good holes.  Hmm. I'll be trying again, without drowning my plants.  I found a bunch of great instructions about pot gardening that I hope to try this year at Baking and Books

I am both amazed and excited that All of the munchkins have decided that

 they can share a theme for their birthday parties this year.  I can not tell you how pleased I am.  Of course, dh says "Why do you need a theme? Make a cake and buy food."  He does not think like me at all.  The littlest munchkin is dreaming of candy, candy, and more candy, so I know that dh is not far off the mark.  However, this does not deter me. This is an oportunity to decorate!  Naturally, details to follow…

Patty brought me this darling miniature basket from Africa.  She was on a survey trip with her husband and ran across these in one of her girlfriend's homes there.  It's full of the deepest scented beans I've smelled in a long time.  It's customary to share a bean when your friends come to visit.  They chew them up and then spit out the bean when they're done.  I'm keeping mine for the scent as a reminder of friendship and travel. 

We are on to our next city in the art history class I'm teaching on Fridays.  I chose China and showed the kids this very cool clip from a documentary on China. This week I found a straight forward guide to making simple paper for their first time.  It's by Denise Fleming and will be easy enough for them to do.  I took a papermaking workshop years ago and loved it.  This particular class of kids is very inquisitive so I think they will enjoy it too.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

