Cupcakes for winter

The rain is pouring, heavy drops hitting the skylights over the piano, in the dark.  It comes and goes as the clouds are blown this way and that across the hilltops at Deer Haven.  The porch light is shining through a glittery sphere of light it has created on the window's droplets. 

We watched Coraline this week, with it's gray days.  Yes, it does get that gray in the Northwest, the inspiration for the film's setting.  For a more in depth look at the concept art for the film you can go to illustrator Jon Klassen's site.

What I recall with enchantment was the food in the film though!  Of course, that was the focus for Coraline, and they did a great job of making it inviting! The scene in my head tells me that there were pink cupcakes, but when searching for pictures from the film, I couldn't find them.  So here are some cupcakes that are just as cheerful as the ones Coraline found enticing. The first is from baked and wired in D.C., the Lego ones that the munchkins were crazy about are from hello naomi out of Australia, and the third is the Periodic Table of Cupcakes, with a recipe for cupcakes.

I was drooling over the newest issue of Artful Blogging by Somerset Studios this evening.  Dh hinted that he might want to get a subscription to it for Valentines Day, if he had the information, so I purposely didn't look at it.  However, when I looked at the website, you really don't save much by getting a subscription.  I almost pouted, but it's so beautiful, I feel more resigned than pouty. 

I think I need to look at elephants from ekohdesign to cheer up.  You too? Ah yes, I feel better already!

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cupcakes for winter

  1. Scott says:

    I thought "Coraline" was terrific. Recently I bought a blu-ray player and picked up a blu-ray copy of the film over the Christmas holidays. I had my nephews and niece over to see it one cold grey snowy afternoon. They all enjoyed it. As did I. That kind of creativity is rare.

  2. Rosemoor says:

    It was so creative! I loved the vivid colors, and of course the night time colors contrasted very strongly.

  3. Kacy says:

    At least, you only get rain. We're buried in snow… a city under powdered sugar. I saw Coraline in 3D! That was awesome.

Leave a Reply

