Calendar Art

Art becomes meaningful when it touches an emotional chord, like music, a kiss, or a scent does.  In my studio hangs an Edward Hopper calendar from 1999.  It's always open to January because the featured painting is "Room in New York" from 1932.  This particular piece leads me to a direct memory of a night in my life soon after we were married…and, as evidenced by the subject chosen by the artist, more than one couple has had this same night.

In college I always carried a weekly planner with art on the left side and the blank days on the other.  I recall choosing a Joan Walsh Anglund calendar as a way to remember home and one of my dearest childhood book authors. There was one with Renaissance angels as well, from the Met, probably a gift…

I havn't used a physical calendar since the Expedition tangled with a semi on ice.  We've been operating on one vehicle, and therefore one online calendar to keep car usage tightly monitored. I've looked longingly at beautiful agendas, journal style calendar notebooks,

 and the occasional wall hung with art prints in large format.  (I did purchase a Frank LLoyd Wright agenda simply for all the photos of his work.) 

I just fell in love with a new calendar.  It is by Masha D'yans and it features a series of watercolored trees.  I love trees and the lyrical way she portrays them caught my eye as I walked past, not even thinking about getting a calendar at all this year.  Her line work is structural, an excellent compliment to the blending of the browns and greens in her trunks and leaves.  And one little touch she features is a sweet little bird, one of my other loves! 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calendar Art

  1. Scott says:

    I've always liked Hopper. A framed print of his "Nighthawks" hangs in my living room. I've been a lone late night diner in diner's many times. That print really appeals to me, as do many of his other pieces. I also like the Frank Lloyd Wright photo. It looks like one of his Usonian homes. I've fantasized about owning a Wright house for years: "Fallingwater" or the Dana-Thomas place being my two favorites. As for calendar art I used to love those displaying Maxfield Parrish prints, mainly for the play of light and color.

  2. Rosemoor says:

    Parrish's work is lovely, I agree. There are several artist's whose work I'd love to paint a pastiche of, and his is certainly in that category. You learn so much from painting in another painter's style for a little bit. Taking back what you've learned about their process helps to deepen your own experience of creation.

Leave a Reply

