Fresh Fall Projects

My hands are burning.  I have blisters on each palm. However, my heart is happy because we helped two friends this week.  One has given me carte blanche with his bachelor pad, so you'll be seeing before and after photos at some point.

I'm really excited about a new class I'm teaching this fall.  If you were here, I'm sure you would be excited too!  I've just created blank canvas books that we will be filling with all sorts of things.  The theme I gave them was "Art through time and geography".  I haven't pinned down exactly how I'm going to do it, but I'm sure we will have fun.  These are some of the books I have that we will be using as references for our projects. The Art of Fabric Books (by Jan Bode Smiley), Photocraft (Herter/frankel/Lovett), Fiberarts(magazine), Leonardo da Vinci for kids (by Janis Herbert), and Fabric Journey (by Ruth B. McDowell).

Naturally, as soon as I finished sewing one up, I came up with a hundred different book themes that would be fun to create in them.  Fairy Tales, Nursery Rhymes, Short illustrated stories, photo collages, sample catalogues of techniques, and of course, children's play books.

It also doesn't hurt that I've just had a new quilt shop move into my backyard! It's called Aunt Tam's and it has the yummiest fabrics. I showed you a shot of their bolts last week, and here are some more of their interiors. She doesn't have a website up yet, but I'll let you know when it's online.  They are sweet, helpful, and have a very cozy shop.  If you go in the back, they have a darling little kitchen where you can help yourself to coffee or tea as you shop.  (They baked chocolate chip cookies for the kids one Sunday, I heard.) Gezelig (Huzzelic) is the Dutch word for the feeling you get in such a place… They are located in Battleground Village 1207 Rasmussen Blvd, Battleground, Washington.

Kitchen2Kitchen1

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

