Fairy and the Princess

Cinderella lost her slipper, but I've lost a foot. 

The base pattern for the fairy is finished.  However, she can't wear them yet due to my inability to find her leg.  I had it in my hands right before we were due to have company. (Bad move) I must have "tucked it away" in my last minute cleaning frenzy. 

The large doll is my first version.  Toes (not shown) were drawn first to match the shape of the slipper and the rest of the doll followed. As you can see, she began quite large.  After reducing the pattern, the small one could be made.

We've been watching Amazing Grace and it made me think of the Gothic cathedrals in Yorkshire.  I had a Cannon SLR when we were there and all of my photos are film.  However, when we were in the Netherlands last year I shot several similar churches. 

Once a year there is a group that my dh travels to Mexico with.  They go to build homes for families who own land but are living in substandard conditions.  This year an art auction has been arranged to raise funds for their travel and supplies.  I've started work on a piece

that I was asked to donate for the show. 

Many years ago I ran across little "play houses" in our neighborhood, made by children.  We were living in a rough part of town and the houses were very unique.  Each set of children had fashioned their structure with whatever they found laying around.  I started taking pictures of these make believe homes, as they caught my fancy.  Years later,the photos of the homes in Mexico reminded me of those children's dreams.  They are made with the same determination, audacity, hope, and materials.  However, the dependence on these homes for survival instead of play makes them sad in our eyes.  I hope that our work with the Mexican families helps to reinforce their dreaming.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

