Portland Bakeries

I think it's only right to start a review of Portland bakeries with those close to the heart of downtown Portland.  If you know Portland well, you know that the real heart of Portland pumps coffee and ink.  The Left aorta is Powell's bookstore.  There is a coffee shop in Powells, but to get the real deal for a bakery, dh says you must bake bread.  The closest bread bakery is right behind Powell's Technical Bookstore, just up the street in the Pearl district.

Pearl Bakery carries my favorite drink, San Pellegrino lime or Limonata, fresh local organic orange juice, and makes any kind of coffee or espresso drink you like.  They also make a good chai. 

Dh ordered the ham sandwich, croissant and o.j. , I ordered the turkey and a few pastries to go.  They were all fresh and scrumptious.  I would like to see a fresh tomato on my sandwich though.  I think it had sundried tomatoes with olive oil, which was good, but I love a homegrown tomato.

The apple cranberry tart was amazing to me, but dh said it had too much bite.  He likes his apples sweet, I like a counterpoint.  We both enjoyed the croissant, but then, who can resist a flakey, fresh baked croissant?!  (He said I would need to get my own next time.)  See the chocolate brownie in the last photo? I didn't eat it until later.  I actually did a horrible thing and left it in the oven too long at home while rewarming it.  (I was aghast!  Heart broken! Burn chocolate?!!) 

Are you hungry yet?

 

 

 

 

 

PearlbrownieCranappletart

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

