Rapunzel, Rapunzel…

No, I'm not locked in a tower, though sometimes I wish I could just lock the door when I'm drawing.  I usually burn the midnight oil to do my artwork around here. (Yes, the time on those posts is real, it's late.)  However, this piece was not done too late…

I was intrigued by my cousin's work on miniature dolls and asked her a few questions about sizing.  She helped me with it and I decided to create a fairy tale bedroom set.  To start, I picked Rapunzel and began researching the garden ideas.  Most stories refer to Rapunzel's craving for lettuce, Rampion, or "Campanule raiponce" (Latin) to be exact.  So I created fabric by painting a page full of them and printing it on printer fabric.  Then I made a pair of miniature pillows with the fabric.

I was pretty happy with the way they turned out, so I decided to make pillowcases for them.  I printed out some fabric with a flower I thought was German-garden worthy, a purple bearded iris.  I then began on a quilt.  It took me a while to figure out how I was going to have Rapunzel's hair coming out the window, but I used an applique stitch and it worked just fine.

For the drawing of the tower and garden, I used a technique called pointillism. You'll probably recall Georges Seurat's work using this technique.  (However, I did not use his color control, placing specific colors next to each other to create "natural light" in his paintings.) Even so, it took quite a while to complete the artwork for the front of the quilt.  When the hair arrived from a doll shop, I braided it to fall out of the candlelit window.  I'm not sure what to charge for this piece (pricing, the bane of artist's existence.)  When I do, I'll list it on Etsy for you as it is finished.  I also ordered a bed to display it on, but it was broken in the mail so we'll both just have to wait while the wood glue dries before the whole picture can be put together.

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rapunzel, Rapunzel…

  1. Kacy says:

    I really love this. Great creative idea!

Leave a Reply

